top of page
Writer's pictureKimi Bath

My crazy, beautiful, English internship

Updated: Apr 17, 2020

I absolutely loved my internship in England! I seriously got the luck of the draw because I actually didn't choose it myself, I was placed there by my international school. I was placed at a company called Thirsty Thoughts. They invented and built two drink pouring robots and they tour the world to wow their clients at their corporate events, parties, or trade shows.


Their first robot is called Homer which is a mind-controlled beer pouring robot. He works by placing a headband like headset on and reads your brain waves to track your level of concentration. The more you concentrate = more beer.


Their second robot is called Matilda who is a champagne pouring robot with the use of hand-gestures. She is controlled by simply waving your hands over a sensor and if you make the motion of pouring a drink, the robot will pour accordingly.


On my first day, I was challenged with the task of creating a clear brand strategy for this fairly new company. They had little social media presence, their website was still in development and they had only a handful of quality leads. This was a task that was definitely challenging but also very rewarding and gave me a chance to apply everything I've been taught so far.


My first big idea was to create a blog section on their website. This was because the company's most ideal target was an event planner. I used my reasoning to link both Pinterest and this target together because event/wedding planners use Pinterest constantly for ideas. If we had a blog, which we then linked to Pinterest, we could effectively reach our target. Unfortunately, I wasn't an intern for too long to see if these posts generated any leads, but the company has really elevated since leaving, so I'll just take some partial credit there.


I also was responsible for planning and executing our launch party for Matilda back in April. For this event, I assisted in planning the promo video that was taken at the party and I created the invite and social media content. This event was a huge success and I was very glad to have taken part in such a fun time with all my colleagues.


This internship and company will always have a special place in my heart because of all the genuine friends I made. Luckily, I still talk to my colleagues to this day and having the opportunity to learn from them was one of the most rewarding parts of my time abroad.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page